Artist of the Month
  • local channel
  • local charts
  • show listings
  • studios
  • submit
  • submit

deli cover

October 2014


Steve Voss paints the picture of a mid-aughts major label stalwart that eventually buckled under the weight of feedback from the mess of people involved in the process. Framed with this context, the moniker Tetherball comes into sharp relief. At the end of his rope and refusing to be swatted back and forth into submission, Voss withdrew from Atlantic Records and his home state of Colorado. He receded to a studio in an industrial neck of Nashville, still tinkering with sound but with a very cracked perspective; essentially the industry version of Lazlo Hollyfeld.


Tetherball's album will officially drop October 28th via Silver Point Recods. Even if this backstory weren’t true, “Whimsy” still sounds like someone reveling in their eccentricity. It’s weird, and deals it out its peculiarity in mid-tempo canters and clearly-baked moseys. Sci-fi plays just as big of a thematic influence as personal experience, so if you have a taste for the slightly off-center, parts of this album will have you clapping your hands in delight. The guitar tone has a tendency to do infectiously cool things, like the jangle at the opening of “Vegetarian” or the tit for tat that kicks off “Bootss.” This album could probably play in tandem with any South Park episode and mirror it with frightening accuracy.


This is not to say that Voss has lost all awareness of pop sensibility. For very Primus off-note there is an alternative snarl, which makes for an interesting and palatable listen. Tetherball maintains a high level of theatrics throughout, from the grand sweeping boredom of “Hometown” to the Western swing of "Boulderado" the big top rhythm of “Spring Chicken,” a track that had me playing indie-rock matchmaker and wondering for a second how cool it would be to see them on tour with Thao and the Get Down Stay Down.


“Whimsy” is an amazing first statement from this fledgling band. It’s clear that this is a pin pulled from a grenade, and that the Tetherball dimension is something that will only expand. We can’t wait to see how this band evolves. Stream the album HERE, and check out their website at: www.tetherballmusic.com

This is a preview of the new Deli charts - we are working on finalizing them by the end of 2013.

Go to the old Top 300 charts


scene blog


Krust Toons: "So Hardcore" by Teddy Hazard

Krust Toons: "So Hardcore" by Teddy Hazard - please feel free to drop him a line at teddandthehazards@gmail.com if you dig or have any funny ideas. You can also check out more of his illustrations HERE.


The Bad Doctors Opening for Thee Oh Sees at Underground Arts Nov. 17

Tonight’s show at Underground Arts is definitely one that I said to myself when I first saw it on the calendar: “Oh, why the fuck does this have to be on a Monday night?!” One of my favorite bands Thee Oh Sees are back in town, and though they’ll be returning as a different configuration, John Dwyer and crew will surely provide a signature amped up performance. For local support, synth-punks The Bad Doctors will be gettin’ the crowd warmed up. Armed with an arsenal of material from their latest LP Burning City (FDH Records), the energy level will be set to full throttle from the get go. Drag City’s Jack Name, a.k.a. White Fence’s touring guitarist John Webster John, will be the psych-pop filling to this rockin’ sandwich for the evening. Underground Arts, 1200 Callowhill St., 8pm, $18, 21+ - Alexis V.


New Cherokee Red Cassingle Available for Streaming & Purchase

Dream-pop/folk five-piece Cherokee Red recently went on an East Coast tour in support of their latest cassingle The World Is My Oyster, You're the Pearl. You'll also find another new track entitled "Far From It" on its B-side. The release is available on cassette via Philly-based indie label Magic Death Sounds, and you can stream and purchase it below.


Banned Books Opening for Dustin Wong & Takako Minekawa at JB's Nov. 16

Sonic exploration comes to the forefront tonight with a pairing of artists cut from similar fabric tonight at Johnny Brenda’s. The evolving lineup of noise-pop outfit Banned Books currently rests as a trio. With a looming full-length recording in the works, the band may be ready to test/experiment some material. Either way, Banned Books is always interesting, taking surprising turns - sometimes aggressive, others playful and always stretching the fabric as they turn away from norm and look in another direction. Tonight, they set the table for Dustin Wong & Takako Minekawa, whose combination is a whimsically light yet intricate endeavor - one that gravitationally pulls you in and once there, you won’t try to pull away. Johnny Brenda’s, 1201 N. Frankford Ave., 9:15pm, $12, 21+ - Michael Colavita


The Mellowells Providing a Natural Ease at Lavender Town Nov. 15

There’s a natural ease to The Mellowells, a gentle steady climb of sound piecing together a denser/stronger overall product along the way. So, when a song reaches the top looking down, you don’t realize how far you’ve traveled. That fluid, rolling energetic groove and vocals that have a stream of consciousness, spoken-diary/observation feel with just enough aches to squeeze into your house and a raw outpouring of instrumentation once the band reaches the pinnacle. Tonight, The Mellowells are a part of the birthday celebration at Lavender Town. Speaking of which, Mumblr has that manner of developing catchy pop-punk tunes that form around Nick Morrison’s versatile vocals and then explode with instrumental fervor. The show also features the emotive-lined rock of Clique and intentionally rough around the edges, single candle illuminated catharsis of Abi Reimold with its jagged cutting guitars and smooth but penetrating vocals. Lavender Town, (Please contact one of the acts or venue for more info),7pm, $3-$5, All Ages – Michael Colavita



Which of These Local Acts Should Be Our Next Artist of the Month?

- news for musician and music industry peeps -